The Simpson Center’s offices are currently all online. Our staff is available by phone and email. We do our best to respond as soon as possible. Thank you for your patience.
Simpson Center for the Humanities

Announcing Spring 2015 Funding Awards

The Simpson Center's Executive Board has awarded support to UW scholars for the 2015-16 year. Simpson Center funding supports a wide range of activities, including crossdisciplinary research clusters, graduate student interest groups, scholarly conferences, and projects in our new “other” category.  

Funding awards are administered twice annually. The projects below join the funding awards from the fall 2014 round.

Colloquia and Conferences

Affect & Audience in the Digital Age: Translational Poetics – Sarah Dowling (Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences, UW Bothell), Amaranth Borsuk (Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences, UW Bothell), Gregory Laynor (Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences, UW Bothell), and Brian Reed (English and Comparative Literature)

Shakespeare, Memory, and Music – JoAnn Taricani (Music History)

Access to Information as a Human Right – Angelina Godoy (Jackson School of International Studies), Ricardo Gómez (Information School), José Antonio Lucero (Jackson School of International Studies), and Glenda Pearson (UW Libraries)

Hebrew and the Humanities – Naomi Sokoloff (Near Eastern Languages & Civilization), Hannah Pressman (Stroum Center for Jewish Studies), and Nancy Berg (Hebrew Language and Literature, Washington University)

Crossdisciplinary Research Clusters

Palestine and the Public Sphere - Eva Cherniavsky (English), Anis Bawarshi (English), Karam Dana (Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences, UW Bothell), Amy Hagopian (Public Health), Michael Perez (Anthropology), Caitlin Palo (English), and Sandra Silberstein (English)

Performance Studies – Scott Magelssen (Drama), Stefka Mihaylova (Drama), Odai Johnson (Drama), Ellwood Wiggins (Germanics), Justin Jesty (Asian Languages and Literature), Juliet McMains (Dance), Theresa Ronquillio (Center for Teaching and Learning), and Rachel Chapman (Anthropology)

Troubling Translations – Cynthia Steele (Comparative Literature), Heekyoung Cho (Asian Languages and Literature), and Vicente L. Rafael (History)

Public Scholarship/Community Engagement

Seattle's Freeway Revolt: A Living Legacy of Civic Activism – Minda Martin (Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences, UW Bothell)


Mediating Difference: Sights and Sounds – Ralina Joseph (Communication), Michelle Habell-Pallán (Gender, Women, Sexuality Studies), Habiba Ibrahim (English), LeiLani Nishime (Communication), Sonnet Retman (American Ethnic Studies), Ileana Rodriguez-Silva (History), Stephanie Smallwood (History), and Sasha Welland (Anthropology and Gender, Women, Sexuality Studies).

Science, Technology & Society Studies (STSS) First Year – Leah Ceccarelli (Communication), Alison Wylie (Philosophy & Anthropology), and Philip Thurtle (Comparative History of Ideas and History)

Unmapping Global Studies: Oceania, Global Indigeneities, and the Transformation of Area Studies – José Antonio Lucero (Jackson School of International Studies), Holly Barker (Anthropology), Rick Bonus (American Ethnic Studies), Sara Curran (Jackson School of International Studies), Sheryl Day (Information School), Rochelle Fonoti (Anthropology), María Elena García (Comparative History of Ideas and Jackson School of International Studies), Miriam Kahn (Anthropology), and Chris Teuton (American Indian Studies) 

Graduate Interest Groups

Medieval Studies - Brian Hardison (English), Meagan Loftin (English), Emily George (English), Katherine Snider (French & Italian), and Ross Henderson (Asian Languages & Literature)

Moving Image Research Group (MIRG) - Joel Strom (French & Italian), Jasmin Krakenberg (Germanics), Ungsan Kim (English), Verena Kick (Germanics), Douglas Anderson (Comparative Literature), Rachel Graf (English), Quian He (Comparative Literature), Yuta Kaminishi (Comparative Literature), Paul Morton (Comparative Literature), Jennifer McClearen (Communication), Sarah Ross (Comparative Literature), Mohsen Sharifani (Foster School of Business)

Reading and Writing Affect – Denise Grollmus (English), Emily Bald (English), Nathaniel Bond (Asian Languages & Literatures), Catherine Bresner (English/Poetry MFA), Liz Janssen (English), Lise Lalonde (Comparative Literature), Angela Durán Real (Spanish & Portuguese), Liina-Ly Roos (Scandinavian Studies), Tesla Schaeffer (English), and Zachary Tavlin (English)

Teaching with Technology – A.J. Burgin (English), Ann Shivers-McNair (English), Verena Kick (Germanics), Tesla Schaeffer (English), and Peter Wallis (Education)

Comics Studies – Rachel Graf (English), Alexandria S. Gray (English), Paul Morton (Comparative Literature), Alissa Bourbonnais (English), Robert Hodges (English), Sarah KremenHicks (English), and Tamar BenzikryStern (Jewish Studies)

Disability Studies – Heather D. Evans (Sociology), Kai Kohlsdorf (Gender, Women & Sexuality), Carrie G. Basas (Education), Carlyn Mueller (Education), Ann Luetzow (Social Work), and Sean Jarvis (Gender, Women & Sexuality)

African Media and Materialities – Ruth Moon (Communication), Matthew Adeiza (Communication), Jesse McClelland (Geography), Eloho Basikoro (Geography), Sarah Dreier (Political Science), William Gochberg (Environmental Politics), Kylie Clay (Environmental Politics), and Meredith Bauer (English)

Space, Movement, and Translation – Canan Bolel (Near & Middle Eastern Studies), Michael Sims (Near & Middle Eastern Studies), William Bamber (Near & Middle Eastern Studies), Vincent CalvettiWolf (Comparative Religion), and Sasha Mariel (Comparative Religion).


The deadline for the next funding round is November 13, 2015. Learn more about Simpson Center funding opportunities.