Announcing the 2011-2012 HASTAC Scholars

2011-2012 HASTAC Scholars

The Simpson Center has nominated ten graduate students to serve as HASTAC Scholars for the 2011-2012 academic year. HASTAC (Humanities, Arts, Sciences, and Technology Advanced Collaboratory) is a network of individuals and institutions inspired by the possibilities that new technologies offer for shaping how people learn, teach, communicate, and organize local and global communities.  It was created to look toward the future of higher education in a digital age with a three-pronged focus on new media and technologies, critical thinking, and participatory learning.

The Simpson Center is a leading member of HASTAC. The HASTAC Scholars Program seeks to bring the innovative work and events taking place in the institutions, communities, and regions of HASTAC Scholars to the attention of the HASTAC network.  As HASTAC Scholars, students represent their home institutions to the national consortium by participating in online intellectual dialogues and networking with scholars face-to-face to discuss theoretical, critical, and technical matters related to digital culture. Past HASTAC forums have included “Academic Publishing in the Digital Age,” “Blogging and Tweeting Academia,” and “The Future of the Digital Humanities.”

The ten 2011-2012 UW HASTAC scholars were selected for their advancement of digital scholarship in conjunction with the following collaborative research projects: Keywords in Video Game Studies

  • Edmond Chang (English), organizer
  • Theresa Horstman (Education)
  • Natascha Karlove (Information Science)
  • Sarah Kremen-Hicks (English)
  • Terry Schenold (English)

Women Who Rock

  • Nicole Robert (Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies), co-organizer
  • Monica De La Torre (Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies), co-organizer
  • Jessica Cima (Museology)
  • Carrie Lanza (Social Welfare)
  • Elizabeth Cortez (Communication)
Be Boundless for Washington | For the World