HASTAC Scholars

HASTAC Scholars Initiative

The Humanities, Arts, Sciences, and Technology Alliance and Collaboratory (HASTAC) is a network of individuals and institutions inspired by the possibilities that new technologies offer for shaping how people learn, teach, communicate, and organize local and global communities. It was created to look toward the future of higher education in a digital age with a three-pronged focus on new media & technologies, critical thinking, and participatory learning.

The Simpson Center is a leading member of the HASTAC consortium. Each year, it nominates graduate students to serve as HASTAC Scholars, a program that seeks to bring the innovative work and events taking place in the institutions, communities, and regions of HASTAC Scholars to the attention of the HASTAC network. HASTAC Scholars represent their home institutions to the national consortium by participating in online intellectual dialogues and networking with scholars face-to-face to discuss theoretical, critical, and technical matters related to digital culture.

The 2014-15 UW HASTAC Scholars are:

  • Rachel Arteaga (English)
  • Alexandra Burgin (English)
  • Annie Fee (Comparative Literature)
  • Joshua Griffin (Anthropology)
  • Tiffany Grobelski (Geography)
  • Brian Gutierrez (English)
  • Verena Kick (Germanics)
  • Sarah Kremen-Hicks (English)
  • Tesla Schaeffer (English)
  • Peter Wallis (Education)